Podcasting an engaging tool

Wow, time can get away for you once the school year begins. So this year I was trying to incorporate a new technology that would promote the use of technology and not require a ton of time on my part to create. I also wanted it to be some thing that the kids would enjoy want to participate in. So I settled on a Pod cast.

As it turned out they loved it and I have had some good success with it. I currently use it as a way to introduce a topic or individual in my lessons. Each week I describe a person, place or thing that will be discussed in class. I post the podcast on Monday and they have until Friday to post their answer to a forum on our website or email me the answer. I know full well that they will get the answer in class before the due date.

What I found out about podcasts amazed me. One, students love to listen to them and they do get their attention and keep it. Two, the podcast must not be longer than a commercial break 2 minutes and 30 seconds. Three, include something at the beginning that will engage them such as a question, riddle or joke. I used the joke and even though my jokes are bad they talk each week about what the dumb joke will be and actually look forward to hearing them.  Four, give them some type of activity to do after they are done listening. My typical podcast layout goes as follows:

  1. Introduction on me with music.
  2. Overview of the topic of the pod cast
  3. Musical break
  4. Joke
  5. Musical Break
  6. Main content of pod cast and assignment
  7. Ending music

Once I created the template for my podcast each week I just change the joke and the main content and publish. I am able to complete these pod casts in less than 10 minutes. I found them to be a great way to introduce technology in the classroom.

Leave a Reply

