Five Project Resources My Students Love

One of my major goals for this year is to allow students to present what they have learned in class in any form in which they feel comfortable.  At the beginning of the class I provide a list of many different resources from which they can choose.  Students are also given the option of creating their own way of presenting their information, provided they first obtain teacher approval.

What I have noticed is this: Most students start with writing papers, since that is what they are use to and with which they have had the most success.  When they are starting their third or fourth projects, I have found that they are looking for new and creative ways to present their information.

Over the past semester these five resources seem to have become quite popular with my students.  (See the list below.)  When I ask why they chose this medium to use, they often state that it is because they are allowed to alter the look and feel of the project.  It seems that any resource that allows them to alter its look and apply/create a personal touch really captivates their attention; it motivates them.  Use the links below to check these resources out for yourself.  See if they may fit your needs.

Along with these tools to present and or demonstrate their knowledge,  I have had the students help create the grading rubric.   This has been very powerful in the classroom.  I have also been surprised at how much harder their rubrics seem to be than the ones I would have created.  But allowing the students to have a say in the grading criteria has been a great motivator for them.

Below is  an example of toonlet.  Toonlet is a cartoon creator that some of my students discovered and really enjoy.

Resource Links:

  1. Toonlet: http://toonlet.com
  2. Class Press: http://www.classpress.com/
  3. Xtra-Normal: http://www.xtranormal.com/
  4. Glogster: http://edu.glogster.com/
  5. Prezi: http://prezi.com

Five Resource my Kids Love!

Six Resource my Kids Love!
Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
One Response

  1. […] projectsWordle and Glogster Lesson Plan (A Real Eye Opener!)YouTube A Bandwidth Problem? Try This!Five Project Resources My Students LoveTeaching Online vs. A Traditional Classroom: Are they really that different?Technology A Vital […]

Leave a Reply

