Why should I care? “Shmoop”!

Over the past week or so I linked Shmoop on my class site for students to use.  During that time there were a couple of things that I noticed kids really enjoyed about this site.  The first, was the link to contemporary culture and pop culture.  That link fostered connectivity with the students and helped keep them engaged.  The second, was the section found under each topic called, “Why Should I Care”.  This was very powerful for many of my students who are always wondering, “Why do we need to learn this stuff anyway?”  While I use it primarily as a resource tool for the students it has seemed to capture their attention and is now one of the first sites they go to to find information for projects and assignments.  This is definitely a resource I will continue to use.

This site contains lots of great information on U.S. History, Civics, Literature, Poetry and others. Check it out if you have not already at http://www.shmoop.com/

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
15 Responses

  1. Fantastic goods from you, man. I have understand your stuff previous to and you’re just too excellent. I really like what you have acquired here, certainly like what you’re saying and the way in which you say it. You make it entertaining and you still care for to keep it wise. I can not wait to read far more from you. This is really a terrific website.

  2. Amazing! Its genuinely awesome piece of writing, I have got much clear idea regarding from this piece of writing.

  3. Everyone loves it whenever people come together and share ideas. Great website, stick with it!

  4. I just like the valuable info you provide on your articles. I will bookmark your blog and check once more right here frequently. I am slightly sure I’ll be told plenty of new stuff proper right here! Best of luck for the next!

  5. Heya terrific blog! Does running a blog such as this require a large amount of work? I have absolutely no knowledge of coding but I was hoping to start my own blog in the near future. Anyhow, should you have any ideas or techniques for new blog owners please share. I know this is off subject but I simply wanted to ask. Thanks a lot!

  6. It’s an remarkable article in support of all the web users; they will take advantage from it I am sure.

  7. Hello! I just wanted to ask if you ever have any trouble with hackers? My last blog (wordpress) was hacked and I ended up losing several weeks of hard work due to no back up. Do you have any methods to protect against hackers?

  8. We’re a group of volunteers and starting a new scheme in our community. Your web site offered us with valuable information to work on. You have done a formidable job and our entire community will be grateful to you.

  9. Hello there, I discovered your site by the use of Google even as searching for a related matter, your web site got here up, it appears to be like good. I have bookmarked it in my google bookmarks.
    Hello there, just turned into alert to your blog through Google, and found that it is really informative. I am gonna watch out for brussels. I will appreciate in the event you continue this in future. Numerous other folks will likely be benefited from your writing. Cheers!

  10. Excellent blog! Do you have any hints for aspiring writers? I’m hoping to start my own blog soon but I’m a little lost on everything. Would you suggest starting with a free platform like WordPress or go for a paid option? There are so many options out there that I’m totally confused .. Any suggestions? Bless you!

    • You will want to start with a free blogging site so all you have to do is focus on writing your blog. You may find it takes more time than you think.

Leave a Reply

