Interested In Augmenting Your Classrooms Reality?

AR Game

Over the past year I have begun exploring different Augmented Reality learning environments for my students.  I had the good fortune of receiving 30 GPS enabled cell phones for my class that I could experiment  with the last three months of last year.  In that time I was able to piece together some Augmented Reality games for kids to play on our football field.  The results were astounding, the level of engagement and the conversations among students were highly educational and inspired me to look into this type of learning environment more. As I surfed the web I came across games such as:

I began to wonder why could we not use this type of technology in our classrooms.  Getting the students into the real world and interact with virtual items or people to solve real world problems.  While the games I employed were simple and crude do to the time frame that I was under last year I did find that the learning and engagement of the concepts I was trying to teach increased in all students.  Also the post game discussions about the topic were much more productive since all of the students had a stake in the conversation due to the experience they just had playing the game. So this summer I have been looking at creating different types of Augmented Reality learning environments to use in my classes next year.  If you are looking to create these same types of learning environments or know someone who is please contact me.  I would like to know what you are looking at creating.

Enhanced by Zemanta
9 Responses

  1. It’s good webpage, I was looking for something like this

  2. It’s great webpage, I was looking for something like this

  3. Hey,

    I have a question for the webmaster/admin here at eduhowto.wordpress.com.

    Can I use some of the information from your post right above if I give a link back to your website?

    Thanks,
    Harry

  4. Hi,

    Thanks for sharing the link – but unfortunately it seems to be down? Does anybody here at eduhowto.wordpress.com have a mirror or another source?

    Cheers,
    Peter

  5. If that is right, why isn’t it more commercial discuessed? Thanks, I appreciate the honesty

  6. Hey,

    I have a question for the webmaster/admin here at eduhowto.wordpress.com.

    Can I use part of the information from this post right above if I provide a backlink back to your website?

    Thanks,
    James

Leave a Reply

