Copyright Free Image Resources for History Classes

Photomontage - Composite of 16 different photo...

Image via Wikipedia

This past week as my students began working on their latest project. I noticed many were having a hard time locating images to use that were not copyright protected. After reminding them to endure that they use images that are not copyright protected they hummed and hawwd and said that they could not find any images. So like most teachers I began looking up resources that they could use and began compiling a list for them.

As many of my readers know I have written on this topic before and you can read that post here.  16 Great Image Resources For Projects But as I looked at those resources they often did not provide students with historical images for a history class. So I went back through those resources and others and the following list provides better images for students to use in a history class. This is not an exhaustive list so if anyone knows of a site that would fit the bill please send me the link. In the meantime take a look at the following resources and let me know what you think.

Searchable Topic Specific

  • StockVault : Very well-known, and very good of course. Is searchable for specific images of places people and things.
  • DeviantArt : Another well-known site with images, photo and Photoshop brushes. This is a great searchable image website.
  • OpenStockPhotography : More than a million images. This is a great searchable image website with many different types of photos. Does have historical photos as well.
  • EveryStockPhoto : Nice site, nice content. This is a very good searchable image website with many historical photos.
  • MorgueFile : A site everyone should have in their bookmarks!. Has many historical photos.
  • Flickr : You already know it, right? Has many different photos on many different topics.
  • FreeRange : Another well known site. Great site with historical images.
  • FreeStockPhotos : Lots of great images and many historical photos.
  • BurningWell : Many images limited historical photos.
  • PhotoPin: Great Searchable website or images.
  • Pictoral America is a site focused on American History. This site has been created by the Library of Congress and has some great American History images.
  • Library of Congress on Flickr: Library of Congress on Flickr. Many different image collections on American history.

Historic Specific Photos

Enhanced by Zemanta
One Response

  1. Free Images
    Hi thеrе I аm ѕο delighted I establish уουr blog, I really establish уου bу error, whіƖе I wаѕ researching οn Digg fοr something еƖѕе, Nonetheless I аm here now аnԁ wουƖԁ јυѕt Ɩіkе tο ѕау thank уου fοr a marvelous post аnԁ a аƖƖ round enjoyable blog (I аƖѕο Ɩіkе thе theme/design), I don’t hаνе time tο ɡο through іt аƖƖ аt thе moment bυt I hаνе bookmarked іt аnԁ аƖѕο added уουr RSS feeds, ѕο whеn I hаνе time I wіƖƖ bе back tο read a lot more, Please ԁο keep up thе brilliant work.

Leave a Reply

